h1

Labhaoise Brennan

December 16, 2007

Needing to find something to cleanse my head of the puerile pulp of the X-factor that the boys wanted to watch I have turned to my old favourite Labhaoise.  I have been listening to her for a while now and have been to a quite a few of her gigs this year.  She has a fabulous voice and there is just some quality that resonates with me…as one headline puts it ‘unashamedly melancholic’ which sums up her sound quite well.  She is joined by the brilliant Len Arran on the guitar (who was a co-writer/producer for Skunk Anansie/Skin) and the excellent Maria Angeles Alcalá who plays like an angel on the viola.  The lyrics can be heartfelt…as one friend put it she couldn’t believe that somebody so young has been through so much!  To be honest though, I just get lost in Labhaoise’s voice and Maria’s viola so it puts me in a very good place indeed.

Her official site is here where you can join the guest-list and download a couple of tracks and videos or you can listen to her on MySpace as well.  Was talking with Maria last week and they wont be gigging until early 2008 so for now here are some great YouTubes of a few of their songs.

A Day At A Time

Damn It All

You’re On My Mind

3 comments

  1. This is great! I know what you mean about her voice, I have chills. It seems I need to download some new music. Thanks for sharing.
    -K


  2. Aye I do think she has something special! I have to content myself with her downloads as well since there is no cd out yet- hopefully in 2008.


  3. […] Labhaoise Brennan She is joined by the brilliant Len Arran on the guitar (who was a co-writer/producer for Skunk Anansie/Skin) and the excellent Maria Angeles Alcalá who plays like an angel on the viola. The lyrics can be heartfelt…as one friend put it … […]



Leave a Reply

