h1

Dan le Sac vs Scroobius Pip, Crawdaddy

January 20, 2008

It was quite late when they came on but what an excellent gig!  Opened with The Beat That My Heart Skipped which is just the best way to get the crowd moving and then some of his slower songs and spoken word.  They closed with a cover for Prince’s Cream which I thought was hilarious but great!   They were selling copies of their live shows afterwards but even though I wasn’t far back they had run out by the time I got up there! 

Dan le Sac is pure brilliance on the laptop and whatever else is using up on stage that I can’t see!  There is a special quality to Scroobius’ voice that I cant put my finger on- its not just what he says but how he says it- the timbre of his voice and the cadence of his speaking are just excellent!   Was surprised that he actually had some of his spoken word on the stage…I really don’t remember that from Electric Picnic but I am blaming the vodka for that.   Came across his Unspoken Word Poetry on YouTube a while back and even though it is not professionally done it is definitely worth a listen to- they should have a clearer version on the Kiosk’s podcast– great that Nadine was able to interview him. 

Ran into Derek after the show and ended up going to his friend Louise’s house party….I have a new crush….called a Budda Bag!  Great music and chat so it was all good…only downside is that I got home at half 7 Saturday morning and had to be up at half 10!

Some great videos here but have a look at the last one for the X-Factor where they auditioned just to take the piss out of the whole process!

Unspoken Word Poetry

The Beat That My Heart Skipped

Thou Shalt Always Kill

Letter From God

Letter From X-Factor

5 comments

  1. This is so good! The beat that my heart skipped is great, as well as the letter from God. I have watched all of them a few times now! I don’t know if you have listened to Matisyaho, but this reminds me of him. You’ll have to check it out.

    Thanks for sharing this! Fantastic!


  2. Yeah infectious stuff- can’t wait for their album to come out! Had a look at Matisyahu in YouTube and he is quite good as well- bit of a double take the first time you see him though since you don’t expect a Hasidic Jewish guy singing reggae! Thanks!


  3. I ended up at this gig by accident… I got the impression that he was playing some filler songs because he’s still a bit short on material. But there were a few quality tunes that more than made up for it all!


  4. Great timing if you were there by accident! Think what he played is all of his material alright- Derek said what he played is going to be the album so he must have gleaned that from them at the Phantom interview!


  5. Well, it was sort of by accident… some of the Phantom crew I was with decided to take up the offer of free passes at the last minute!



Leave a Reply

