h1

Blueberry Nights

March 15, 2008

Actually saw this last week before Tegan and Sara but only getting around to posting it now.

Blueberry Nights

Even without knowing that this was a Kar Wai Wong film it was very obvious from the opening scenes- similar to 2046 in that it has great style and cinematography. If you haven’t seen 2046 you should for some excellent acting by Tony Leung, Gong Li and Ziyi Zhang who are all huge stars in Asian cinema. The story itself is a bit slow though so don’t expect anything too exciting.

As for Blueberry Nights- this film is about feelings: love, hate, abandonment, desire, jealousy, and above all hope. However, I felt rather emotionless by the end and I thought there where this film works well is in the small details that Wong seems to focus on in his films. There are couple of things I found a bit annoying as well- the jazz music interludes between scenes and Nora Jones voiceovers reminded me of something out of the Red Shoe Diaries which really just cheapens the imagery.

The acting was good for the most part but the standout performances were David Strathairn and Rachel Weisz– they both inhabit their characters and really made it look like the others were just acting. Nora Jones is ok in her first role- while I never really liked her voice she is good and really cute I must admit- although when Weisz is on the screen you know who the girl is and who is the femme fatale. Jude Law and Natalie Portman are both ok as well- nothing earth shattering but a decent performance.

Overall it is a good film- worth it for the cinematography and acting by David Strathairn and Rachel Weiss

2 comments

  1. You don’t like Norah Jones’ voice? How is this possible? I think her voice is calm and soothing. It helps me clear my head and I sometimes listen to her to fall asleep.


  2. Aye, I must be in the minority when it comes to Nora Jones. She does have a good voice but it just doesn’t have the edge that gives me those little goosebumps…and when I did try to listen to her I would fall asleep! I love female singer/songwriters though so I would listen to Katie Melua, Julia Stone, Natasha Khan(Bat For Lashes), Tori Amos, Alanis Morissette…and loads more. Labhoise Brennan still hasn’t released anything but at least I should be seeing her at the end of the month!



Leave a Reply

