h1

Resonant Frequency

October 17, 2008

I don’t often really read all the text over at Pitchfork but this article by Mark Richardson caught my eye since there were quite a few groups mentioned that I have been listening to over the last couple of months.

He has written quite what I have been feeling of late about the artists voices as opposed to their instrumentation or vibe.  I have always put a huge value on whether a voice resonates with me regardless of the type of music it is- Karen O might be screaming a good bit more than Aimee Mann but there is still something that would resonates with both.

Which is why on first listen I wasn’t enamoured with Bon Iver but yet within all the noise of Ponytail I loved Molly Siegels non-singing and Juana Molina’s hypnotic effect with all the loops of her voice get me on every listen.   Some other good groups mentioned in the article so check it out!

Leave a Reply

